Threat Level: green Handler on Duty: Xavier Mertens

SANS ISC: Questions regarding the new US-CERT reporting guidelines SANS ISC InfoSec Forums

Watch ISC TV. Great for NOCs, SOCs and Living Rooms: https://isctv.sans.edu

Questions regarding the new US-CERT reporting guidelines
Hello all:

I hope I can get some help here. I am tasked with aligning my SOC's reporting process/procedures/taxonomy with the new US-CERT guidelines. Working on this task has revealed some concerns with the SOP(s) currently in place, and I'm trying to come up with a good solution that fulfills the goals dictated to me by my leadership. To that end, I have a few questions. Disclaimer: I am not, by training, a Security Analyst (I am a computer forensics analyst), thus, I am on the DF side of the DFIR community, so my questions may seem a bit misguided or naive. I apologize if that is the case. That being said, on to the questions:

1) Has anyone in the community come up with a (at-least semi-concrete) set of high-level classifications for most of the cyber attacks the security community deals with on a regular basis. For example, I've seen lists of cyber threats that include the following different categories:

phishing attacks
spearphishing attacks
spam

I would put those into the top-level category of "email-based attacks".

Another example:

Viruses
Worms
Trojans

I would put those into the top-level category of "malware"

Hopefully you get the idea.