Threat Level: green Handler on Duty: Bojan Zdrnja

SANS ISC: Event Logging Requirements SANS ISC InfoSec Forums

Participate: Learn more about our honeypot network
https://isc.sans.edu/honeypot.html

Event Logging Requirements
I'm a tech writer working on InfoSec policy documentation. In the country where I reside, the Government's requirement for data log retention is that companies retain log file data for seven years. There is a classification of what kinds of data to log, specifically those involving changes to network configuration, failed log in attempts, logins to sensitive data, etc. Even so, the requirements seem pretty onerous in terms of data storage - keeping 7 years of event log data would demand a pretty huge amount of storage, let alone storing it in such a way that it is navigable.

What's the feeling in the InfoSec community about how to deal with these requirements? Do companies actually have to follow the letter of the law or can they get away with less?
Circadian

7 Posts
Hi,
Seven years looks very long just for "network configuration changes" and "failed logins". Where do you reside?
A long retention policy does not mean that *ALL* collected events must remain online. You can split your data across multiple media types and move them from one to another in the future. Ex: SSD -> SATA -> DVD
Those DVD can be stored offline in a safe.
Xme

537 Posts
ISC Handler
Well, don't want to give too much away, but Australia ;-)